# ECU Retired Faculty Annual Meeting Minutes June 10, 2019

The meeting was called to order by President Archie Smith. A quorum was present. The minutes from the 2018 Annual Meeting were approved.

# Recognition

Board members who are ending their term were recognized and thanked for their service. Included in the recognition were: Don Guy, Tinsley Yarbrough, Lou McNamee, and Michael Cotter. Melonie Bryan was recognized for her skill and effectiveness in supporting the Scholarship Committee.

Ken Wilson, a current board member (recently deceased), was recognized in a tribute provided by Archie Smith and Paul Tschetter. Dr. Wilson was an expert in survey research and led several studies that benefitted the University and the citizens of North Carolina.

## **Nominating Committee**

Chris Mansfield, chair of the Nominating Committee, provided a written report that was presented by Paul Cunningham. Members of the committee included Cunningham, Guy, and Reiser. Recommendations for Board Members were approved at the April 18, 2019 Board Meeting. Christa Reiser will serve a two-year term expiring in 2021. Mary Gilliland, Dorothy Muller, Laura Sweet, Marian Swinker, and Paul Tschetter will serve three-year terms expiring in 2022. The officers recommended by the Nominating Committee for the upcoming year were presented: Archie Smith (president); John Tingelstad (vice president); Lars Larson (treasurer); and Martha Engelke (secretary). There were no nominations from the membership and the slate of officers was approved.

# **Scholarship Committee**

John Tingelstad, chair of the Scholarship Committee, provided a brief description of the process for choosing scholarship recipients. All of the chosen recipients demonstrated a high level of academic excellence and they are children of current or retired ECU faculty or EHRA members.

Graduate student recipients Lyndsey Cuthrell and Taylor Moye were present with their guests. Undergraduate recipient Harold Holloman was also present with his parents. Menna Abdel-Salam, a graduate recipient, and Jamie Chamberlain, an undergraduate student recipient, were unable to attend. President Smith encouraged RFA members to continue to support the scholarship fund for these deserving students. Information is available at the website.

### **Fall Social**

This event is scheduled for October 10. 2019 at the Heart Institute. Additional information will be available through mailings and at the website. Lars Larson is the chair of this committee.

#### **Forum Presentations**

Marian Swinker asked members to suggest potential speakers or ideas for the Forum presentations. There are two events scheduled in the Fall and two in the Spring. A schedule will be forthcoming. Please send suggestions to Marian at: <a href="mailto:swinkerm@ecu.edu">swinkerm@ecu.edu</a>.

#### **Dutch Treat Luncheons**

Every First Thursday from September to May, the RFA sponsors a Dutch treat lunch at a restaurant in Greenville. It is an excellent opportunity to socialize with other retired members. Paul Cunningham coordinates the luncheons. If you have suggestions for restaurants in Greenville that can accommodate the RFA (usually 10-20 people), please contact Paul at <a href="mailto:cunninghamp@ecu.edu">cunninghamp@ecu.edu</a>.

# **Updates/Information**

#### Constant Contact

One of the challenges addressed by the Board is the importance of timely and accurate communication with the members. Currently, Chris Mansfield has explored the use of *Constant Contact*, a proprietary program supported by ECU, as a method for managing communication. The program offers a variety of options to provide better information to the membership as well as membership sub-groups. The Board approved using this program for one year and it will be evaluated at the end of the year.

#### Website

Archie Smith and Dorothy Muller will attend a training session on *WordPress*, a system that appears to be an improvement for managing the website. The association is searching for a webmaster. Please forward suggestions to President Smith at <a href="mailto:smithar@ecu.edu">smithar@ecu.edu</a>.

# **Bylaws**

The current Bylaws of the association were completed in 2015. A revision of the bylaws, coordinated by Marti Engelke, is currently underway by the Board. A proposal for revision will be presented at the 2020 Annual meeting.

#### Policy/Procedure Manual

Currently the Association does not have a policy/procedure manual to guide processes and ensure consistency. As the Bylaws are revised, Mary Gilliland will coordinate the development of the policy/procedure manual.

There was no other business brought forth for discussion. The meeting adjourned at 6 pm and all members as well as scholarship recipients and their guests were invited to the Chancellor's Retiree Honors Reception convening at 6:30 PM in the great hall of ECU Murphy Building.