MINUTES ECU RETIRED FACULTY ANNUAL MEETING **JUNE 5, 2017 MURPHY CENTER**

The Annual Meeting of the ECURFA was held on June 5, 2017 in the Multipurpose Room of the Murphy Center. The Meeting was chaired by Tom Feldbush, President. The Meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m.

The following actions were taken:

- The minutes for the June 14, 2016 annual meeting were approved.
- The Treasurer's Report, detailing the several ECURFA accounts, was given by Lou McNamee

•	Checking Account (SECU Account #29854384) -	\$3,	538.00
•	Share Account (SECU Account #191888) -	\$	42.47
•	ECU Foundation Account (ET 3332) -	\$4,	558.43
•	Provost's Allocation for 2016/17 (\$1,500)	\$	92.18

- ECURFA Scholarship Funds:
 - Undergraduate Scholarship Fund (ECU Foundation Account 4486)

•	Corpus (Acct # EC 4486)	\$30),208.41		
•	Restricted Earnings (Acct # ER 4486)	\$10),279.65		
•	Expendable Fund (Acct # EE 4486)	\$	147.59		
•	Bridge/Underwater Fund (Acct # EU 4486)	\$	575.00		
Graduate Scholarship Fund (ECU Foundation Account 4489)					

Graduate Scholarship Fund (ECU Foundation Account 4489)

•	Corpus	(Acct # EC 4489)	\$2	29,855.20
•	Restricted	Earnings (Acct # ER 4489)	\$	8,138.82
•	Expendab	le Fund (Acct # EE 4489)	\$	43.92
•	Bridge/Un	derwater Fund (Acct # EU 4489)	\$	775.00

In a discussion of guiding individuals who want to make contributions to the Undergraduate and Graduate Scholarship Funds "in memory/honor of" faculty members or others, the following information was acquired from the ECU Foundation for the proper procedure:

- The Board recommends contributions be made to the Bridge Funds for either the Undergraduate Bridge Fund (Acct # EU 4486) or the Graduate Bridge Fund (Acct # EU 4489)
- The name of the honoree and the respective account number should be identified on the MEMO line on the check.

Scholarship Recipients for AY 2017/18

- Undergraduate Scholarship recipients are Morgan Burynski (\$1,000) and Emily Trapp (\$1,000).
- o Graduate Scholarships Basil Abdelfattah (\$1,000) and Tolar Harris (\$1,000).
- The Nominations Committee report was given by Jon Tingelstad
 - The following is the list of officers recommended for 2017/2018 Tom Feldbush, President; Archie Smith, Vice President; Paul Tschetter, Secretary; and Lou McNamee, Treasurer

- The officers were approved without objection. Tom Feldbush noted that the upcoming year is the last that he will serve as president.
- The Committee has recommended the approval of John Rose as a new Board Member The Nomination was approved without objection
- The continuing Board Members are: Don Guy, Dot Satterfield, Tinsley Yarbrough, Joann Jones, Jon Tinglestad, Donald Ensley, Buddy Zincone, Lars Larsen, Linda Wolfe, Austin Bunch, Michael Cotter (webmaster), Rudy Alexander (travel chair)
- The Retired Faculty Forum Committee report was given by Lars Larsen.
 - There will be four Faculty Forums during the upcoming year
 - 10/10/2017 The Vidant-BSOM Merger and New Directions in Health Care;
 Michael Waldrum, MD, CEO of Vidant Health
 - 12/10/2017 Future Directions for Greenville; Don Edwards
 - 2/13/2018 Satellites What You Don't Know Might Hurt You; Kurt Feldbush, MS, Systems engineer, Radiant Blue Technologies
 - 4/10/2018 Global Warming; Scott Curtis, PhD, Department of Geography, ECU
- Dutch Treat Luncheons
 - Luncheons are held on the first Thursday of each month from September through May.
 The location for the lunches is available on the Daily Reflector's Community Calendar and the ECURFA website
- The Board has decided to not have the Preretirement Workshops for the upcoming year, but will review whether to have the program during the AY 2028/19.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:05 p.m.